A Cookie For Every Diet

A collection of cookie recipes from the internet

The Baseline

This is my mother’s chocolate chip cookie recipe.  It’s my favourite of all time.  Give it a try.  If you like it, chances are, you’ll agree with my other ratings and reviews!

Ingredients

  • 1 egg
  • 3/4 cup white sugar (I use raw sugar)
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • About 1/4 cup softened butter (honestly, I put in as little butter as possible, but if the dough doesn’t stick together, you might need to add a bit more)
  • 1 cup flour
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1 dash salt
  • 3/4 cup chocolate chips (or until there is literally no more room for more chocolate chips in the dough).  I like to use milk chocolate chips.

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 375 F
  2. Soften butter
  3. Mix sugar, vanilla, egg, and butter until the mixture is smooth.  If you get butter chunks, it probably wasn’t soft enough.  Let it sit at room temperature for a while until the butter warms up, then try mixing again.
  4. In a separate mixing bowl, combine dry ingredients: flour, baking soda, salt
  5. Mix wet and dry
  6. Add chocolate chips
  7. Put cookies on tray
  8. Bake for 10 minutes

The Verdict

As previously stated, this is my favourite cookie recipe, hands down.  Sure, it’s not very creative, but I’ve made it so many times I could do it in my sleep and mostly I just eyeball the ingredients, hence my directions not being too clear.  Of course, the recipe has sugar, wheat, butter, and egg, so pretty much there’s something that isn’t on your diet in this recipe.  It’s also probably a billion calories, not that it matters – you’re eating cookies, what did you expect!

Note: I put in a small amount of butter intentionally, and it has nothing to do with health reasons.  I find that if you put in more butter, the cookies spread more, and become more golden and chewy.  If you put in less butter, the cookies retain their original shape better, and they don’t get crunchy after they cool.  I prefer the latter, but hey, personal taste and all.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 5, 2014 by in All-In and tagged , , , , , , , .

Navigation

